The Tale of the Quilt

My mother loved seeing quilts but hated quilting. She preferred to get clothes on people’s backs versus a task she considered “fru-fru” and a bit mind-numbing. My grandmother and great grandmother both enjoyed making quilts. The closest thing I have done when it comes to making a quilt before was a queen-sized endeavor for Japanese tsunami victims back in 2011:

Finished queen-sized quilt for Japanese tsunami disaster victims in 2011. Picture taken at DI, Provo, March 2011

Finished queen-sized quilt for Japanese tsunami disaster victims in 2011. Picture taken at DI, Provo, March 2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

was a pot holder-sized item when I was a teenager.
For the past five years or so, I’ve felt like I needed to make a double-wedding ring quilt for my step-Mom and Dad as a peace offering. The metaphor is pretty obvious if one takes into account that we aren’t chummy pals. Today while doing more endless family research, my main sites were over-loaded with long weekend researchers. It was time to break out the quilting stash.

Huskystar Sewing Machine in its box

Sewing machine

That said, my process up to this point was not horrible. I bought a sewing machine.

Quilt pieces for double wedding ring quilt

Quilt pieces

I also cut out every piece of fabric using forms for the pieces:

It looks like a mess (and it is) but the pieces have been through four moves in the past two years, so they’re doing great, considering.
Now? Time to begin assembly. I bought a special quilting foot to allow for strange circular movements on my refurbished machine. I have a massive cone of tan quilting thread, and since it’s a weekend holiday where I decided not to go nuts over clients, I have a little time. Let the games begin!

Feel free to comment.

