Systemic Thinking

Tonight’s class had a guest speaker and part of his information dealt with the topic “systemic thinking.” I’ve been doing this my entire life and never knew what it was called. Consider it a combination of analysis and otherwise “digging.” It’s seeing patterns and trends in life processes. I first learned to do this with scriptures. Looking for parallels with life and with what I read, this is now a normal part of life for me happening daily, like breathing.

I don’t know whether I am “good” at it or not. It simply comes to me when looking around at life. There were other aspects of the discussion like leadership- a real leader is someone who inspires others to their best behavior by looking to help those people become better themselves. A real leader also has interest in the development of his or her cor-workers, staff, comrades, or just plain friends or family. I want to add here, irrespective of whether or not they can benefit him or her. Honest and active leadership involves recognizing the strengths and benefits of the people who surrounds one. Working hard to make a positive impact is the main result required from positive change, even if change is not easy.

The older I get, the more that I see change as necessary to make any progress in life. I recently moved six miles. That may not seem like much, but in a city like where I live, it is the difference between drug stores on every corner, and actually having corners. I live in a space that feels safer, and that should hopefully host some sort of social event or gathering for a small group once I have a clue where I really want to put my bed.

Moving in has taken time and energy, but the good thing is that I am now frequently on-campus, and thus I have more emphasis on homework and less time spent in other measures or other pursuits. Focus was an issue, but now I am normally in the same room nearly every waking hour. This does happen to be my favorite room between both campuses, but I am grateful that tomorrow I will change it up a bit and go to other places where I may pursue other endeavors.

Thanksgiving will be a local event, and I still cannot choose with whom to participate in the matter. There are other temptations which try to hit my mind, but I know in Whom I have trusted, and even if there is no other way out I have Him and will power. There is the example of not giving heed to potential issues. No matter how late it is, no matter how cold, or lonely, there is determination and endurance. Called “true Scottish grit” by some, it is knowing that the Lord will keep His promises whether or not the results are instantaneous, and especially when you wait for years and try your best and keep going the best that you know how to do, admitting candidly imperfections if called upon.

For those who scoff at faith, try a dose of HEAVY duty trials. There will be no more scoffing shortly thereafter. Friends and love come and go, but God ever remains. The methods may change like a DVD player to ITunes, but the message content (what another professor likes to call data) stays the same. The expression of the thought process is manifested in various ways, and they’re not bad.

Just like how God loves all people no matter how stupid we all get. Yeah, sure- people get on each other’s nerves. Best friends sometimes need to breathe. But that doesn’t mean that there is a lack of goodness there. I wonder sometimes if people don’t believe in God because of trust issues, or not wanting to commit, or for any reason, openly, they’re scared. It takes faith in emergencies to get through it. Not sure whether anyone else thinks this way, but I do. It’s not a complete thought, but hopefully it gets people to think.

I have no idea what God has in store for me, but I think that whatever it is, it’s going to be fun. Not sarcastically-meant, either. I believe in a God of miracles, of love and light, who likes and respects intelligence, but doesn’t treat people unfairly. If you’re going to do God’s will, He will likely start working with you more. That’s not to say that there won’t be opposition, but God overcomes things. It’s how He works. This is the Deity that I believe in. This is part of Jesus Christ.

Feel free to comment.

