Kindness

When I think about the people who have helped me out over the past few months to multiple years including my Church, it would be incredibly dumb for me to leave anyone out when they needed things.

There are a lot of people who need things- I need a job, and am looking for one. In the recent past, I have received a lot of kindness from others. There are bills to pay, and tears to mend, but I have a roof over my head and I have food.

I believe in Jesus Christ, and I know what the teachings there are. For all of the help that others give me, it’s time to give back. I was talking with a friend on the phone today and noticed that he seemed envious when I mentioned making home-made macaroni and cheese. I didn’t have the box version and looked it up. Simple, common “peasant” food.

Instead of hearing tones of wishing that he had a homemade something, he was simply envious of the food itself. That should never have to happen. No one should ever go hungry. I don’t care how idealistic that may be in varied areas of the world, but were people to not only put their money but their time and their resources where their ideals are, there would be less problems.

I did some minor digging and found out more about the situation. There are a lot of people who he does not trust, and he has really good reasons for it. He has had a really hard life, and emotionally needs people who will act as the family that either does not or cannot help him now. He trusts me, and I’m never saying his name here. He has a lot less pride than many people I know, but his name is un-necessary. I thought about my excess of food now- how I got it, I’m not entirely sure. Just haven’t eaten it down yet. Immediately, thoughts of what to do came to mind, and it was time for action.

Most of the Sunday School classes that I go to teach this stuff, and teach that acting on the commandments is the best way to live them. If the only faith that you preach comes from your mouth, you haven’t lived enough yet. I’m not trying to get into heaven on works. I’m trying to follow the Savior, Jesus Christ. Perhaps it wasn’t a mistake that part of my reading this morning dealt with the miracle of feeding 5,000 from five loaves of bread and two fishes. God walks on water and he feeds people who are hungry in whatever form that may be.

So, this kid will be coming to my apartment, more than an hour by mass transit from where he lives. He has few people to almost no one to turn to, or at least feels that way. I’ve definitely been there and usually am there. But I also know in Whom I trust. “In God we trust” isn’t some old motto that people stick on paper money to take up inking space. It means that we believe in a little less arrogance and a little more kindness. There are some times when people will not accept help from the people directly around them unless they are open to receiving it, and I want to help. It’s what my mother would have done.

The plan tonight is to make sure that he is fed this evening, give him something for tomorrow, and that he has bus/transit fare to get home again. I never saw myself in a parable until making extras of macaroni and cheese and just trying to make sure that he had something in which to cook things.

Our Church has functions in place that when they work should help with this sort of instance. People should be looking after each other, but it does not always work perfectly. My car works, but the registration barely expired. Cannot chance a ticket. I have more than 400 pages of reading I need to finish for one or both grad programs. There are plenty of other things that I could be doing, but I’m sitting here writing a blog post to help mentally process this blessing that came to my life.

This is the first time in a long time that I have the means and God provided the ability to pay it forward. There was a movie of a similar title back in the 90’s or early 2000’s and followed a bunch of people as their lives intertwined in ways that otherwise were completely unconnected. This man is my friend, and whether or not the blessing will lower because of posting about the action online or (and the following is what I hope) inspire others to reach out and TRY it, too- it doesn’t matter what the end result is. God let me serve someone without even leaving the house using means that He gave me in the first place. God’s doing is genius.

I hope that he does not read this and get embarrassed, but knowing him, he might be okay with it. Sincerity goes leagues with people, and that is why this matters.

Feel free to comment.

