You Never Know Who’s Reading

Today at Church my new ward clerk told me that he’d read my blog. At least one professor reads my posts. He is my teacher and grades me on this. I never expected people to find this work outside of my niche group. So, I’m honored and at the same time know that I need to do good and better work.

It is not a betrayal of my family history background to candidly state that I see all of my fields “outside the box.” I like integration of all aspects of my life and prefer not seeing things in boxes with distinct edges. In a previous post, I mentioned that my philosophy sought to take the box, and look at it like a molten glass globe rather than as a bed-bug ridden cardboard box. There is nothing enlightening about limiting oneself outside of self-imposed laws or morals. And those are more like kite strings. A kite does not fly without a tether to the ground. Being grounded is literally the only way that a kite can soar. Wind is a tool, not the thing that keeps them afloat. I see that the same way in my life. I need the grounding and then I am a speck of magenta riding cirro-cumulus positivity.

The kite is a better analogy than balloons. Sure, balloons soar for a while, but then they lose their helium, their momentum dies, and they just float listlessly to the ground in a deserted effort at existence. Eventually spent, they are lucky if they get recycled into a completely separate form. More likely, they end up in a trash heap. Kites, on the other hand, must have the proper tether and balance in their tension for floating high. Without it, if there was no tether, they are less than balloons and do not hold themselves upright. Design matters as do the efforts of the being holding the string. Nice analogy. I see the kite string holder being wise and prudent in efforts. Instinctively knowing when to let rope out and when to pull down the kite so that it does not receive too much damage. Things like that. I’d prefer being on the ground versus getting wind-whipped far away where resisting the wind beats me up.

Because I know that people are watching and reading, it’s time to do as well as possible if it was not before, which it was then. Now there is not more pressure. There is more purpose. Academically, my work may or may not matter in the large scheme. I am uncertain how far the messages of this blog will go. However, I know there are faces that go along with readers. My work is not only reviewed by SPAMbots, but more particularly it has the review and criticism of people whose opinions matter in my life. I will be working with some of these people potentially for the rest of my life. I have high respect for the professor and I am expecting that I will have the same respect for those with whom I work in Church endeavors also. If any of my classroom colleagues read this work, their opinions matter and in many cases inspire these blogs whether they are of moral or ethical tone or whether they are in response to pages of notes that came as a response to a single question such as in the case of the Family History Basics series.

I am trying my hardest. Not to please everyone, per se, but to share whatever message comes out of these blogs in a positive manner. I cannot write stuffy monologues here, but I want to make clearer more concise messages. Blogs are journalism on spec with a voice that accompanies of who a person wants to become. Who a person is now may not be an accurate preview of the future self, but I theorize that whatever selectively intense experience befalls a person clarifies the personality as the written word develops for that particular person. As I write amid new allergic reactions this weekend, I am grateful for the good people and things in life and in learning that I have a new set of people upon whom I may find reliance.

I hope that we are all able to work together for goodness. That alone is the primary aim of this blog.

Best to all,

GenealogyDr

Feel free to comment.

