Professional Versus Personal

I will write more about family history as time progresses. My family is a multi-layered European mutt land.

This week upcoming is AHA: American Historical Association’s Annual Meeting, and it is my challenge to figure out what are the best sessions for what I need. Although I do not like thinking in a “me” mentality, in cases like this I believe that I have no choice. I have zero previous experience with AHA. Although I had rigorous undergrad courses, they did not train out passive voice completely from my writing. Nor did they equip me for the “real world” of the historian. I am a good intermediate level genealogical researcher, writer, and everyone I know seems to come to me when they have questions in that regard. Being the poster child for something has good points, but it’s hard when I regularly get taken for granted. Complaints do not suit the situation, however. I have other interests, but this particular interest often effects everything else.

I think that being a historian and being active LDS is much more controversial than my background with family history, as controversial as that also is within my other field, library information science. I spent my time in Utah working within my trade, I did not know about and did not have avid interaction with academic historians. That  feels like a detriment, but I make up for it as fast and as well as I am able. The trade basis of my training makes my complaint make sense, but I feel like most of this new space where I can do what I want is up to me.

As I’ve looked over the program/catalog, I notice how many aspects of history that interest me. Yes, Mormon history is part of it, but that will be a life pursuit no matter what else happens. I am also starting to look into FAIR and especially the Apologetics. Luckily, a friend’s Dad is active in that group, but I’ve always thought that truth stands on its own and does not need defending. This is probably a naïve or sentimental viewpoint. The personal ideal is that people stop fighting and bickering and being dumb. That won’t happen for a long time likely, if ever, but it’s a dream that I don’t want to let die.

I am a fan of harmony, and that only happens when people aren’t completely self-absorbed. You look after your own interests, but you take care of needs first, then wants. One only needs so much, honestly. Most of Western society gravitates in the “wants” area. I don’t see life that way. I can’t afford it, and trying to live the life that I have, it doesn’t make sense. Sure, there are times when I buy chicken nuggets versus buying cabbage. (Cabbage being inexpensive, lasts a long time in the fridge, is really good for you, and highly versatile.) For use of this metaphor, chicken nuggets are much more expensive, but in the case of use, they’re a roommate’s favorite snack-type food and when she came into Midway last night, it was a craving that I felt like needed satiation. It wasn’t immoral, nor illegal, and I had the cash at the time so it worked. Call me sentimental, but I like doing things like that, and I think that were God in the backseat of my car in the drive-thru, He’d approve. And I hope that last bit doesn’t sound blasphemous. I figure that God works in daily life, even in the little things.

Concerning self-absorption, it’s easy for a single adult to fall into that group. It’s actually really easy for anyone to fall into that category, but the more gratitude-focused a person is, the less likely he/she trends there.

So there’s that thought process going on while planning out my AHA schedule. I want to go to the Mormon History session, go to the Digital scholarship session, wish dearly that the war trauma session was not held at the same time as I am starting to look into thanatology, but there isn’t that much on it outside of the war trauma session. I also need more info on programming apps, so I think that I may have to ask my Dad about it. I know computers, but I need to know more about programming, and I think that every humanities program in the country needs basic programming courses. Forget the math. Just give me the code. Not sure if that would work, but there must be some way to do this without knowing calculus. And there are ideas that need implementation.

The American History of Computing session happens to fall right during Church. *sigh* I think that I will be sending out a lot of emails to professors to find out more about their interests for the sessions to which I cannot attend. Maybe actual letters. Real letters get noticed. Emails do not. We shall see how all of this goes.’

One Tired Genealogy Doctor

Feel free to comment.

